Freudians on rape, a practical difference

I’ve seen “Gran Torino” and “Changeling” by Clint Eastwood. These movies remind me of Freudianism and its opponents.

“Changeling” reminds me of why  I  used to push Phyllis Chesler’s book Women and Madness and related works. While doing so once, I encountered what Freudians call “resistance.” Merely stating that prisoners were predominantly men and psychiatric clients predominantly female brings a blame the messenger moment for some. I pointed out that there were different ways of social control, because the goal for males was to control the body, while for females it was to control the mind to gain access to the body. Some found that difficult to accept or deal with and asked “how do you know?” The idea that figures are kept on the gender of prisoners and clients did not go over well with people who did not realize that others were already on the job while we were still in diapers. It’s much better to think that no one has yet collected figures on prisoner or psychiatric client biology.

If even that much is impossible to digest, then one can try adding in some controversy from Freudians. In a minority of localities, Freudians dominate the rape discourse.

Readers will recall that childhood trauma plays a big role in Freudianism. The police factoid says females never lie about rape, but the Freudian factoid says one-quarter or one-third of all people suffered incest. There is a huge controversy over whether incest victims make up their memories or have them planted by psychiatric professionals of a certain view.

From experience, I know that people find it easier to pigeon-hole this topic than to deal with it substantively. I’ve even met PhDs who uphold both Freudian and non-Freudian pseudo-feminist shibboleths  at the same time. Social and political activism always suffers in this sort of circumstance essentially because of the laziness of people who do not demand coherence.

Practically, the significance is this: if a Freudian professional can convince a female that she suffered incest, there is then an explanation for female dualism and sexual ambiguity. My intense critics who have usually done no more than throw a sentence at me did not attend a Freudian rape speakout with me to learn how these subjects play out. People who can deal with reality are often the ones who end up doing the most activist work.

Where Freudian social work and psychiatric professionals dominate, the rape speakout plays the role of dealing with childhood trauma. Rather than criticizing adult sex the way a Catharine MacKinnon might, the Freudian rape speakout actually has the task of getting people to adjust to adult sex.

At the rape speakout in some localities, the majority of speakers will be conscious incest survivors. An example of how this plays out is that a womyn gets up to describe a difficulty she is having with a boyfriend during sex. She complains that she can’t concentrate during sex and she is not enjoying it. At that point, MacKinnon might ask whether she is suffering rape. Yet, conscious incest survivors will say something different.

“I can’t concentrate on my boyfriend, because I keep thinking of my father. I cry out. It’s not my boyfriend’s fault. I’m sure I have the right boyfriend. I’m being crazy. My boyfriend is 100% the boyfriend that I want.” In essence, the womyn is saying that her adult sexual experience is still being destroyed by an experience of incest. Yet, if one were the boyfriend, the experience would be of a womyn saying one thing and yet, physically not connecting well.

People who read MIM know we do not buy the Freudian approach. At the same time, newspapers have reported on the change in rape speakouts over the years as professionals took them over and made them bureaucratic turfs. At root the question is about reality.

Conservatives would like people to believe reality is cut-and-dry and well understood by people already. Freudians are saying the majority of people are in contradictory unconscious states. Likewise, MIM would say underlying reality is cut-and-dried, but people hold impossibly contradictory ideas, especially in a decadent culture like the U.$. culture.

Tags: , , ,


