Word back from the ole’ boys’ network

I was thinking about this a couple months ago, but I got word back from the ole’ boys’ network that I figured into a couple Koreans’ getting top jobs. The ole’ boys’ network acknowledged my work and promoted someone from a place where I lost my first real job after being told I had it and then didn’t have it after a discussion of Korean ethnicity. It was a good job in research, not teaching.

While I’m on the subject, after a while, a persyn learns not to use certain references in certain contexts. Some places oblige you if the stakes are low enough. Atmosphere and assumptions happily are not the same everywhere.

Well, I’m sure that my experience does matter, but in a collective way. “OK, that decision was pretty questionable. Let’s see if we can make up for it by now.”

